Month Eighty

Dear Husband,

Priorities. That is what I have to say to you this month. Priorities. Such as what would you rather do? Save a couple of bucks this month buying something that we are not going to get any real use out of over the next couple of months or eat. I know that this can sometimes be a really difficult question but if you think about it really hard then I am quietly confident that you and I might come to the same opinion. The answer is eat by the way. Just in case you were wondering.

I know you don’t have a lot of visibility over the finances so it is perhaps a little hard to have a firm understanding of what is there and what isn’t but on the other hand, its not rocket science. We are both unemployed. Pretty much anything that you want to do this week that we didn’t do last week is not in the budget. Odds on, a number of things that we did last week weren’t in the budget either.

Now I am happy to eat into the savings a little so we can do things as a family. I’m not about to ban going out for coffee or driving further than the other side of town. My family live over 45 minutes away so we’d hardly ever see them if that was the case (although that’d be more my issue than yours). Still, I am happy to spend money for you to study or sometimes for us to be entertained but I do think some of the accessories are somewhat unnecessary…

You wanted to buy a chariot the other day. A device that can be attached to a bike (like the trailer that we already own and not like the bike seat which we also already own) and used as a pram (you know, like the four prams that we already own) or a sort of cargo space (like, I don’t know, either of the wagons we already own). It did have the fortune of being able to fulfil a couple of different (multi)functions in and of itself but the misfortune not to provide any functionality not already covered by our other possessions. I therefore struggled to see the benefit…

And this consideration of priorities is not reserved for just things either. Take the other day for example. You were desperate to get out of the house on time. You wanted to get out early in fact as there was somewhere you wanted to be. There were constant reminders once we got up that we had to get a move on so we could leave the house. Was I prepared? Were the nappy / kids bags good to go? Are we ready to walk out the door and put the dog in the run?

You stressed the importance, a number of times, of us being able to get out of the house earlier than usual. You were pushing for everyone to be quick about whatever they were doing. It was at this point that you decided to cut the childrens’ fingernails and toenails. I’m sorry, what!?! I fail to see why this is so important that it has to be done before we go out. Surely their lives and the lives of those around us are not going to be severely affected if our daughter’s fingernails are slightly longer than practical for an active kid? And why is it that I get admonished for taking too long to dress but you can decide at the last minute to do something that is blatantly ridiculous? I’m sure that you didn’t find it blatantly ridiculous but I’ll bet you $100 that had I been the one to start doing it, you would have had a huge problem with my “wasting time”.

So yeah, sometimes I think that your priorities could do with a little adjustment. Either that or how much you chew me out for interfering with what you consider to be your schedule. I’m just ranting.

Prioritisingly yours,
Your Loving Wife

Leave a Reply

