Day 133 (AC)

Dear Peanut,

We have now had the 4th confirmation that you are indeed a boy. We all traipsed off to the Morphology appointment this week for the more in depth scan that measures…well…everything. Is all your blood flowing in the right direction? Do you look like you have a brain? And kidneys? Are you growing evenly and as you should or are you looking more and more like an alien?

Good news is, you look great. Really. Like we got the 3D images and you don’t anywhere near as much of a martian as your sister did at this stage. She had her face smooshed up against the placenta right about now so she more strongly resembled a lumpy amorphous mass than a human being. You look significantly more progeny-like. I’m sorry, I’m not one of those mums that gush oh you’re so cute. It is pretty cool to be able to see your face though. Even if you do just look like a baby.

Anyway, the slightly less good news is that apparently, perhaps as a trade-off for being able to see your face, the placenta is on the back wall and it low-lying. Which in and of itself is not a big problem right now but if it doesn’t move I will need a C-section. And if you are un-cooperative like you were at the appointment, I will need more internal scans to see if it has moved. Good thing I totally got over the having dignity thing by giving birth to your sister. People seem to need to stick all sorts of things in all sorts of places when you’re pregnant! Sorry, that was probably too much information, huh?

But as to actually being pregnant. Its going ok. I’m not big and I’m not small. Noticeable, sure but still very functional. I can still cut my own toenails. And unpack boxes. Slowly. Standing for long periods is not my idea of an awesome time but then when was it ever. I just get puffed and tired a little faster now. I can feel more and more movement from you. Just little kicks internally at this stage and nothing too strong but I’m sure that will change. You are measuring about a week ahead at the moment so I am warned that you could be big. Hurrah. Just try not to get too big of a head, yeah? Just in case.

Much love,
Mama

Leave a Reply

