Month Fifty-Two

sculptures-2

Dear Husband,

This month was hell. There are no two ways about it. It really sucked. For both of us. I personally feel that I got the raw end of the stick because I was the one that contracted Pneumonia but it was still bad for both of us.

I felt like I had been hit by a Mack truck. Initially I was hot and I was cold. I was sore and it took so much effort to even move let alone function. I was coughing and wheezing and I was so tired. I was sick. Really sick. For two whole weeks. Of course, it didn’t help that I wasn’t diagnosed correctly until my third doctors visit. And that was a full week after the illness started.

So all of a sudden, you had to step up and do more around the house. Something you didn’t take particularly well. You felt put upon and stressed and you really weren’t happy about it. And you let me know it. So I was in equal parts peeved because I was sick, not lazy, and completely uninterested because, like I said, I was sick. I must admit, it seemed unfair to me at the time that you were complaining because it wasn’t the case that you were expected to do everything in my stead. Luckily for us all, I wasn’t hospitalised…

Despite the fact that I felt like death warmed up though, I was still getting up alone with the little one at 6am when she woke and I was still putting her down at night. I also had her by myself on the days she wasn’t at Kindy (and to be honest, I’m not quite sure how I managed it) so I was still doing a share of the child care. Having said all that, I know that you did take on more tasks around the house. You made more of an effort to engage the Genibean when I was making an effort to just stay awake. You also stayed out with her longer on a few days to give me more time to rest. That is no small feat sometimes and I did notice.

I also noticed that perhaps the hardest thing for you was not the fact that you had to do some washing up or keep more of an eye on your daughter. It was the fact that you had to do it without support. Normally, I would be here to talk to you. I would be company at the end of your day and I would be backup when you are trying to make a stubborn Miss do that which she does not want to do. During those weeks though, I was here only in body and not in mind and that pretty much left you as a single parent which is hard work.

So as I said, this month pretty much sucked. I was sick for most of it. I actually got a pretty horrible 48 hour thing at the beginning of the month too but that kind of paled in comparison to the Pneumonia. Whilst I was under the weather, the rest of the household occupants were troopers but it wasn’t fun for anyone. Thankfully, or perhaps hopefully, that is now all behind us. There are some cases in which drugs are very very good!

Hopefully healthily yours,

Your Loving Wife

* Photo taken at this year’s Sculptures By The Sea

Leave a Reply

