Week 25

Week 25-2

Dear Genevieve,

Congratulations Little Bit, you have mastered the art of rolling front to back! It took you a little while but now you are able to roll all over the place. You still very much favor your stomach though. Ever since you learned to roll back to front, you seemed to opt for tummy time at every opportunity. If we put you on the floor, you’ll roll over. If we put you in your cot, you’ll roll over. Even if it takes a while.

Week 25-5

All the SIDS guidelines state that you should put infants down on their back to sleep as that is the safest position. We can’t keep you on your back. I definitely put you down that way but every time you wake up and I go in to get you, I find you on your stomach. If we are at the beginning of sleep time and you continually roll over and are fighting sleep then I sometimes go in and flip you back but after three or four times, I figure I’m only going to be prolonging the process if I keep at it so I leave you to go to sleep that way. If we didn’t have the video on the monitor, I wouldn’t know that you had rolled over anyway. I guess you are just going to be a tummy sleeper.

And whilst we are on the subject of sleep, we had a day this week where we were having real trouble getting more than about 20 consecutive minutes from you. I don’t find that incredibly unusual for your day sleeps because they have always been somewhat erratic but at night, we are definitely used to getting several hours at a time. We are wondering if you are cutting your next teeth. Since the last ones came in weeks ago, you would seem about due but we can’t see anything yet so I guess time will tell. In the mean time, Dymadon is our friend. It’s helping to keep me sane at least. I need the longest possible pockets of sleep that I can get at night and whilst I can cope with three hours at a time, less than that is hard work.

Week 25-3

Speaking of hard, your grip is certainly right up there. I remember when you didn’t want to hold anything. You could grasp things but you would only release them seconds later as if to say why on Earth am I holding this when you are right there and can do it for me. Now though, you grab chins, necks, hair and noses (thankfully not nose hairs) with abandon and hold on tight. Your aim is pretty good too. It wasn’t so long ago that you were just swatting in the general direction of things you wanted, now you can reach out and take. Those motor skills of yours are getting better all the time. I do however have to start teaching you that there are things you should not do – like BITE me!

Week 25-4

Ok, so just to put this out there, I know this is not the best parenting technique. I’m also sure that there would be a whole bucketload of people who’d want to open up a can of whoopass on me for the mere suggestion of my actions, but desperate times call for desperate measures. I have started pinching you every time you bite me…on the ear lobe…hard. I tried sternly telling you “No” and I inadvertently tried shouting out in pain which other people assure me can scare a baby out of the habit but you kept right on chomping. And it wasn’t as if you were crying out in pain yourself when I retaliated. You just kind of paused and stared at me as if to demand what do you think you are doing mum!?! It may just be my imagination but by the end of the week, I’m sure you were doing it less frequently.

Week 25

The other thing I thought I’d share with you this week is that apparently, you think your toothbrush (which I use in the loose sense of the word as it is merely a stick with a knobby, rubbery end to it) is the funniest thing on the planet. Either that or it’s just that you think your dad is a twit. You two had this great game going where your dad would ask you where to put your toothbrush and suggest somewhere like your ear before proceeding to rest the toothbrush there. Then he would throw his hands up in the air and speak on your behalf saying “no, dats so sil-ly” in a funny voice. Each time he suggested somewhere absurd (and claimed that it was so silly) you would crack up in laughter. Eventually you were both giggling at each other like loons. It was very cute. You are both lucky to have each other.

Alles Liebe,

Lexelah

Leave a Reply

