Week 22

Week 22-2

Dear Genevieve,

I have to say that I think we are getting to my favourite age so far. I mean the newborn stage was lovely. I miss your gentle stretches, your funny little snuffles, your quiet cries and the way you would just fall asleep on my chest. All of those things were charming, but now…now you smile a lot more readily. Even if it is at your dad. Now you are stronger and more solid – a lot less fragile. Your hugs are pretty awesome too, because when you reach your arms around my neck, it feels like you are actually holding on to me.

Week 22-3

More of your personality is shining through each day and I can imagine you turning into an opinionated little girl who knows her own mind and is not afraid to let everyone else know it. And I imagine that the more we hang around Neighbourette’s children, the more this development will come on sooner rather than later. I may not like you so much when your favorite word is “no” of course (although I will always love you), but I am enjoying seeing you progress into the toddler you will become. At least most of the time.

Week 22

I am not really enjoying the 4am screaming fits because you are apparently ready to get up whilst your father and I would dearly love to go back to sleep. Well, it’s either you want to get up or you want to get fed but if its a feed that happens 2 hours after the last time I fed you between the hours of 12am and 6am, that is not something that I am prepared to accommodate either. You do seem to be hungrier now than you have been before. Where I used to feed you for 5-10 minutes on one side only per feed, you regularly take both sides now. So whether you are going through another growth spurt or getting to the stage where you need more solid food, I don’t know. I do know though, that you don’t need feeds every 2 hours at night.

I know that you can easily go 4 or maybe 5 hours without added sustenance. You could probably go longer but at this stage, I’d be happy with that. We recently caught up with some of the other couples that we met at our anti-natal class and stories were shared of infants that went to sleep like clockwork at around 7pm and stayed asleep until at least 6am the following morning. They were all formula fed and I never actually expected you to behave the same way, but it would be nice if we could get a little more sleep. I miss sleep. I must admit I have contemplated (on more than one occasion) giving you formula at night to see if you might then sleep through. I have also put more thought into trying to force a new habit (like with the sleep training stuff) but then I think about how I do actually like breast feeding and I’m scared of a week of hell.

Week 22-4

Oh well, it will eventually sort itself out I am sure. Either you will come around to a routine we are prepared to encourage on your own, or push will come to shove and we will commit to trying a new technique with you. The date when I am due to go back to work looms ever closer and then I know there will be a number of adjustments. Hopefully they won’t be too painful.

Alles Liebe,

Lexelah

Leave a Reply

