Shades Of Grey

less-than-50-shades-of-greyDear Husband,

In case you were wondering, this letter has nothing to do with 50 Shades of Grey. I’ll just put that out there now. It is however about communication between men and women, or perhaps just you and me.

Apparently, I see the world in shades of grey and you see…orange. We discovered this the other day when I made reference to the grey backpack and you had no idea what I was talking about. So I clarified my statement by mentioning it was the Kathmandu backpack. The one we have occasionally put the dog things in when we travel…To which you replied that we don’t have a grey backpack. We only have an orange one. This one.

grey

Now I am prepared to concede that this backpack is not completely grey. But in my opinion it is certainly no more orange than this tennis ball is white!

Tennis-ball-007I freely admit that our backpack is in fact grey and orange. But come on, it has a grey back, it has grey straps and it has grey on the front. It is in fact undeniably more grey than orange. See…

grey-2

So it appears that I see some things in shades of grey and now I have a Billy Joel song running through my head:

Shades of grey wherever I go
The more I find out the less that I know
There ain’t no rainbow shining on me
Shades of grey are the colors I see

It does seem somewhat applicable to you and me…I do think however that I should be forgiven for calling the backpack grey. I’m just saying.

Colourfully yours,

Your Loving Wife

Leave a Reply

