Week 8

Week 8 (1 of 4)

Dear Genevieve,

You are turning into a solid little girl. You were already my little Buddha Belly but now your are my Chunky Monkey too. And thank God you are not sixteen yet or you would be all “far out, my mum just called me fat!”. But I didn’t. Because you are not. Not at all. In fact, you are quite lean for a baby. Now that you are eight weeks old however, you are a lot less squoodgy (that is so a word!) and a fair bit more…solid.

You may have only grown a few centimetres but it feels like you are falling off my lap when I feed you now. You are also noticably heavier as we try and rock you to sleep or hold your body against ours to settle you. I can definitely feel it in my lower back. To pick you up, you seem less fragile and floppy these days too as your strength grows along with your weight and height. You still have what the lactation consultant referred to as your Sharpei Puppy thighs though. You are a baby after all. On the plus side however, as my cousin commented the other day, “oh look, she [you] has ankles!”.

Week 8 (3 of 4)

Even though you still have some pudgyness in places though, you are perfectly healthy. At least that’s what the pediatrician told us. This week we went back to the doctor who attended you in the hospital for a routine checkup. One hundred and fifty dollars later, I didn’t learn anything I didn’t know before. Except that we should put salt on your belly button to clear the last bit of cord tissue up. At the end of the day though, I am glad we went because since you did start your life in special care (more or less), it is reassuring to know that a dedicated professional also sees nothing untoward in your little self. And I think Sparky was relieved to know I haven’t been hosing him.

From time to time, the man who otherwise researches everything, will be concerned by something that you do. He occasionally asks me whether your behaviour is normal and in my great wisdom of hot off the press beginner motherhood, I usually reply that yeah, it’s fine! Which of course your father sees less as knowledge and more of an assumption. You are crying more today than you did yesterday? I say you’re a baby, you’ll do that. You are feeding a lot more frequently now? I say babies do that too. Sparky asked me whether we should take you to the doctor once when something had changed and my immediate response was what for?!? The doctor will think I’m an idiot when I front up with a perfectly healthy baby…

Week 8 (2 of 4)

I am a great believer in the trust your own judgement when it comes to your child mentality. So to date, I have been pretty sure that you’re doing just fine. I’m sure there are signs that you try to give me and I miss still – I am new at this after all – but I don’t think you have been adversely affected by my lack of experience. And it would seem that my judgement is reasonable since the baby clinic and the pediatrician think that you are a healthy little girl. So keep going along that route Kleine and we’ll all be happy. Although that’s a relative term.

Week 8 (4 of 4)

I think we discovered the hard way this week that you really don’t like humidity. We can wrap you up so you’re warm, toasty and sweaty and you’ll fall sound asleep. If it’s humid and sticky however, then you’re not a happy camper. We had a day that was not quite hot enough for the air-conditioner this week so we just ran the fan inside. We couldn’t get you to settle for more than about 15-20 minutes at a time though. Of course, Nanna and Grumps were here as well so maybe there was a bit of overstimulation happening but when we put the air-con on to go to sleep, you passed out for about 5 hours!

Alles Liebe,

Lexelah

Leave a Reply

