Week Forty

Dear Button,

So, you were officially due today but as yet I have received no inkling that you are ready to come out into the world. I can’t really say that I’m all that cut up about it though. Sure, we’d love to meet you and its currently like 40 degrees outside and thats pretty hot for a pregnant lady but theres still a part of me that is nervous about whats to come and a little scared of everything changing. I’ll admit it.

I have known people who have been totally over being pregnant long before me and who have been doing all the things they suggest to bring on labour. They have been out walking with one foot on the curb and one in the gutter, eating curries, drinking special tea and doing what got them into this situation in the first place but I have been content to wait. Good things come to those who wait, right? At my OB appointment in the beginning of the week, Sparky asked how long do we actually wait before intervention and it was suggested that we go ahead now and book a future induction date – just in case.

The OB suggested that either the Friday after I was due or the Monday following that might be good days and so I told him I was pretty cool with the following Monday. Having another weekend at home during which I can get things done make Sparky do things sounded like a good idea and as I said, I’m not in a rush. He wanted to make sure I understood that should I get sick of being pregnant before then, an induction on the Friday might no longer be possible but I think I’m ok with the Monday. Of course, if the rest of the week is also spent in forty degree days, I might rethink that but then I’ll just have to deal with it.

If that heatwave happens, then the sleep will be the worst of it. My problem is not so much the belly though at the moment. I don’t have sore hips or an aching back either and the waking up to turn over has merely become par for the course. My big issues at present are a) not being able to sleep on my back during the heat and b) the itchy legs which no cream seems to be able to fix! The belly is still itchy too but I have to say that the last couple of nights, it has paled in comparison to my legs which have been driving me up the wall. I no longer look forward to going to bed at night because it doesn’t necessarily signify an extended period of rest. This last week it has meant several hours lying awake trying to get relaxed, comfortable and not itchy – not on my back – which in the hotter weather can seem pretty bloody impossible. I’m not a back sleeper normally but not having that option for the past couple of nights has been noticed. Perhaps I should be thankful though that I find it so very uncomfortable on my back however because its actually quite unsafe for you. Wanting to do something and wanting to be able to do something are slightly different things…

Anyway, the interrupted sleep has been an ongoing theme this week but there have been a few one off occurrences like the afternoon where I had fairly strong discomfort on one side of my lower abdomen and I couldn’t lie down for a few hours. It wasn’t a contraction and it wasn’t centralised but it was rather discomforting. It was also tiring to go through but it hurt to lie down and I ended up propping myself up in bed with my head back and my mouth hanging wide open as I tried to snooze. So very attractive, I know. It didn’t get any worse though or evolve into something else and after a while it just went away. I didn’t feel it again so I’m hoping it was one of those things.

And speaking of one of those things, something that kind of snuck up on me was the lack of breath capacity I now have. Which is not really news to be honest (and I’ve known for a while that walking up stairs will leave me puffed a lot sooner than it used to) but I didn’t realise till recently that blowing up a balloon was going to be so damned hard. Now don’t get me wrong, I can still actually do this but far out, I didn’t realise it was going to be such an effort. But I guess thats what you get at going on nine months pregnant. Sometimes its the little things…

You are:

  • Officially fully cooked but still hanging in there

I am:

  • Hanging right in there with you

Alles Liebe,

Lexelah

Leave a Reply

