Navel-gazing Three

Dear (hypothetical) Button,

I had a friend ask me last night whether I was going crazy, waiting nervously on the edge of my seat and biting my fingernails so to speak in anticipation of the knowledge that you are or are not. This person knows me well enough to know more of the intimate details in the bid to see whether you will ever be more than hypothetical so she also knew that now was the time to ask. I had to confess however that I am fine. That is, I am not on the edge of my seat, biting my fingernails or otherwise. Its not that I don’t care, its just that I’m not nervous.

Sparky on the other hand, oh my goodness, he has asked me several times already – when will we know? How will we know? He hasn’t asked me whether I think I am with child or not yet but I figure that can’t be far off. I have been pretty vague about the whole thing with him so far though which is a large mixture of I don’t know and I’m too tired to do the maths right now. He does tend to ask these questions when I’m almost asleep. Maybe he thinks that my guard will be down then and I will tell him more than I would otherwise? He would however be in for a sad disappointment.

Obviously, if the answer is “no” this month, and next month, and the one after that then not only will we be a little more experienced in the rhythm and flow of things but we will also probably be a little more invested in a positive answer. At the moment, the vague approach is really not bothering me. I’ve been pretty comfortable with the fact that there is a natural way of knowing for certain that I’m not and if that doesn’t eventuate within about a week of when I would otherwise expect, then I’d be prepared to look into the fact that there might be a reason for this. I don’t feel the need to rush out and buy enough tests so that I can check every day from now until I know for sure one way or the other.

So just thought I’d let you know.

Alles Liebe,

Lexelah

* I would credit the inage if I had the faintest idea of who owned it.

Leave a Reply

