Month Twelve

Dear Husband,
Well its been 12 months now. 1 year. 365 days. 525,600 minutes…how do you measure a year in the life? In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee, in inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife? You know, as the song goes..? I believe I originally intended to have Seasons of Love playing as we entered the reception venue on our wedding day because it seemed like a nice sentiment at the time but like so many other things that Friday, it just flew out the window. What never flew out the window though and what I don’t want to ever let go of, is the conviction that I want to spend the rest of my life with you. Even if you do annoy the crap out of me sometimes. And this month there were moments…
This last month contained all of the usual aspects of daily life such as work and home and sharing the balance of those with each other. I think we have been enjoying a good run at the moment too, being able to enjoy both which is always a blessing. The big event this month for us though was the Christmas in July. This was the first time that either of us had celebrated the un-holiday and despite only inviting 6 other people to share it with us, it was pretty huge if not slightly overdone. I think everyone had a great time but I also think we created slightly more headaches for ourselves than were necessary.
For starters, I am not afraid to admit it, you were right. For eight people, we did not need shortbread, mince pies, gingerbread, dips and cheese to feed people on top of turkey, ham, roast vegetables and steamed pudding with custard. The fact that I couldn’t get the size of cupcake tray that I wanted was not a big deal and I should have made it abundantly clear that I wanted to have certain ingredients more than one day in advance of the evening to prepare. Getting snippy at you certainly doesn’t help the situation or get anything accomplished. On the other hand, I do think that the 4 kilos of turkey plus the 4 kilos odd of ham was somewhat like overkill. 8 people do not need as much as a small African nation. Plus, if we ever do something like this again, you might want to remember that webbers always take longer than you think and therefore putting meat on to roast at 6pm is a bad idea because then you don’t eat until 9! Luckily for us, there was enough booze and food lying around beforehand such as the dips, cheese, shortbread, gingerbread and mince pies that it didn’t look like we were trying to starve our guests…
And I’m sorry for insulting Bing and his buddies who were warbling out Christmas carols as the pregame entertainment or background music, whichever way you want to look at it. They really weren’t that bad, I just would have liked a bit more of a mix with the other carols we had on CD. Leading up to the evening, I approached the subject of music several times and asked you specifically to put something together or let me do it and we didn’t end up with what I was looking for at all which was a bit disappointing. As for the Christmas lights and furniture layout etc., well I guess that didn’t quite work out exactly the way you wanted it to beforehand either. Not because you didn’t get to have everything the way you wanted cause you did but because I wasn’t overly enamoured about your decisions. You didn’t ask me what I wanted but what I thought after the fact which I though was rude and I said I liked it the way it was but I was fine if you left it rearranged which was just ungracious. We’ll both know better next time I guess. And I hope there is a next time. For all that were sniping at each other like cats and dogs leading up to the celebration, it was really nice to cook for friends and have them share an evening with us. It was a very grown up dinner party.
And speaking of all grown up, we just celebrated our first wedding anniversary. Which is perhaps not quite as grown up as celebrating your 30th anniversary but its still up there and I think ours was a day that we won’t soon forget. I knew leading up to it that you were obsessing about making it the best day ever. Ensuring that we would have a terrific time no matter what and really enjoy every aspect. The day would be fun, the hotel would be great and dinner would be fantastic. Or else. We eventually decided to stay somewhere we have stayed before so that was fine and through the hotel, we got to do a meet a cheetah experience which involved a visit to the zoo so that was all good too. Any day I get to wander round a zoo taking photos is a good day. The dinner part however was a little trickier.
When you were researching venues on the net (which was way more effort than I was initially considering) I submitted to you that as long as I got to spend the evening with you, I didn’t care where we were or what we ate. Which is a nice and romantic sentiment in theory apparently but it didn’t go down all that well since what you interpreted that to mean was I don’t care enough about what is important to you and I’d rather do things my way. We did make plans to head to a tapas and wine bar however for which you had high hopes although the evening itself did not have a terribly auspicious beginning.
After realising that we had forgotten our evening clothes for the weekend but not wanting to be stuck wearing jeans and t-shirts, we needed to solve the problem of clothes. A sister the same size solved my issue but last minute shopping was involved with yours. Which is a pain in the backside when the bank account is practically empty. Then I nearly dropped my bundle when I thought I had lost my wallet and wouldn’t be able to pay for dinner and would have to spend the next half hour cancelling all my cards. You calmly held it together for me though and managed to find the wallet for me. Then, when we got to the Parlour Wine Bar, there were a lot of dishes on the menu that weren’t really to my taste. This was almost the icing on the cake for you and you looked as though you were about to give yourself a thorough beating for a handful of things that weren’t really a problem. Despite all this however, what followed was one of the best meals out that either of us have ever had. It was in fact awesome, filled with fine food and wine and the best damned sherry I have ever tasted. I must admit that I was a little sceptical as the glasses were being poured because sherry has always seemed like something you cook with or need an age prerequisite of 60 to imbibe in but the waitress assured us that it was Christmas pudding in a bottle and not to be missed and it totally was.
Which is kind of like you really. Dear husband, you are like all best Christmas presents all in one package and not to be missed.
Happy Anniversary!
Your Loving Wife
* Photo taken at the Meet-a-Cheetah experience we did on our anniversary.
Leave a Reply

