Month Three

Dear Husband,
This month saw us move into our new apartment. It is not the first time we have moved into a new residence together and I’m sure that it won’t be the last either. So far however, despite your multitude of experience in this arena and my own which is not too shabby all things considered, I still feel that we always seem slightly unprepared at the time. Although they do say that this event is one of the most stressful things people can do in their lives so maybe that’s just normal?
We had the added advantage this time that since I was unemployed, I could spend some of my days cleaning and packing. Or rather, it would have been an advantage if you didn’t want to be “involved” in the entire process. At least the packing end of it. You offered continual praise at the work that I was doing for the both of us which seemed a little out of place to me really because if I wasn’t doing that I would most probably have been sitting on my backside watching dvds (answering selection criteria if was a position going of course) whilst you went to work all day to earn the money. It only seemed fair that I pack as much as I could. You would call me from work every hour or so however to get an update and you seemed almost cranky when you got home and could see that you weren’t there to have gotten in on the action.
Of course, you didn’t actually tell me that you really wanted to be there to help pack because you liked packing until a couple of days into the process. Now that we are a few of months into this marriage, you still seem to be under the misapprehension that I can read your thoughts. I can’t. I know you well enough to sense when theres something wrong. I know you well enough to see when you think that the person in front of you is a complete idiot whilst they may under the impression that they actually have a chance of selling you something. I know when you’re really pissed off though you’re telling all and sundry (including yourself) that everything is fine. I don’t know what you’re actually thinking however. I can often tell what your reactions are but the why often completely baffles me. In terms of improving our marital communication, you might want to work on that.
On the other hand, I do concede that if I want you to handle a job then I should learn to just leave you to it. You were great at following up moving quotes and coordinating the hired labour end of the day. Despite the promises of overzealous removalists who apparently can’t identify a 10 tonne truck, you secured us a fixed rate within budget when they suggested an hourly one would be more cost effective. You then proceeded to make them do a second trip to pick up the remaining furniture that they could not fit in the first run.
At the time I got a little frustrated because you appeared to be arguing with the head removalist about driving over 30kms for what amounted to a television set and small bedroom furniture. Something that could easily have been accommodated in one of the umpteen cars we had moving stuff with us on the day. You got very pissy with me when I suggested that we could just handle it ourselves and also when I said I wanted to head off before the truck. The actual amount left behind from the first run however wasn’t all that insignificant and since they quoted to do the whole job, at the end of the day, I was very glad that they did.
This wasn’t the only drama that we had concerning the moving from one residence to another of course. There were also the many “discussions” that we had about furniture placement and the fact that I don’t communicate explicitly enough and you don’t listen but I do believe that it all worked out in the end. We came out of the other side of this experience with a minimum of scars and a happy home.
Gratefully yours,
Your loving wife
Leave a Reply

